Marcus Vetter

Director | Writer | Producer

Marcus began working as a TV editor, producer and director in 1994 at the ARD station SWR after graduating with a degree in Economics followed by another in Media Theory and Practice. His studies included long term stays in Buenos Aires and Madrid as well as practical internships in the media and film business. He was selected for the Discovery Campus Master School in 2004, a 10-month European training program in international co-productions in the nonfiction sector.

His films have received attention at national and international film festivals and won numerous prizes, including three Adolf Grimme Awards - the German equivalent of the Emmy, and one German Film Prize - the German equivalent of the Oscar. Marcus' work first came to the attention of an international audience with his 1999 film "The Tunnel", a docu-drama about a legendary escape tunnel in Berlin. The film received the Grimme Prize, a Special Mention at the Prix Europa and was selected for HotDocs. He went on to make numerous films including "The Battle for Brukman", about rebellious seamstresses in Argentina and The Unbreakables, an award-winning feature doc on industrial glass making in Germany that was released theatrically in 2007. Also in 2007 his film "My Father the Turk" won the Golden Gate Award in San Francisco and was selected for the IDFA, Gothenborg, Barcelona, Ecuador and Ukraine Film Festivals among others. He has gone on to make "After the Silence", "The Heart of Jenin", Cinema Jenin", "The Court" and "The Forecaster". His latest film – THE PROMISE – has opened the section "New German Cinema" at the Munich Filmfestival in June 2016 and will have its theaterical release in Germany in October 2016.

Filmography & Awards



1998    Hardy B. – Psycho gram of a lifer
1999 Life is wonderful – Former pop singers Leismann now touring through construction markets 
1999  Megabucks – Daytrader's stock exchange roulette
1999 The Tunnel – About a legendary escape tunnel in Berlin
2000 Where money grows – The EM.TV Story
2001 Broadway Bruchsal – Actors dreams in a little German theatre
2002 War Games – The computer game Counterstrike
2003 Broadway Bruchsal – Actors dreams in a little German theatre
2003 La Florida – The collapse of the banking system in Argentina
2004 From zero to 42 – Docu Soap about amateur Marathon runners
2006 My father the Turk
2006 The Unbreakables – The reanimation of the glass manufacturer Theresienthal
2007 Traders´Dreams – The ebay phenomena
2008 Heart of Jenin
2009 Hunger – the various faces of hunger
2011 After the Silence – An Israeli woman meets the family of the suicide bomber who killed her husband.
2012 Cinema Jenin – The story of a dream
2013 The International Criminal Court    
2014 The Forecaster – The story of Martin Armstrong
2016 The Promise – The story of Jens Soering




2000  Axel-Springer-Award: Daytrader`s Stock Exchange Roulette
2000 Adolf-Grimme-Award: The Tunnel
2000 German Television Award: The Tunnel
2000 German Camera Award - Editing: The Tunnel
2000 Prix Europa: The Tunnel
2001 Jupiter Award: The Tunnel
2001 Adolf-Grimme-Award: Where the money grows – The EM.TV-Story
2001 Ernst-Schneider-Award: Where the money grows – The EM.TV-Story
2002 Adolf-Grimme-Award: Broadway Bruchsal
2002 Ludwig Erhard Award: Daytrader`s Stock Exchange Roulette
2002 Adolf-Grimme-Special-Award Nordrhein-Westfalen: Broadway Bruchsal
2006 Berndt-Media-Award: The Unbreakables
2006 Documentary Award Goethe-Institute: The Unbreakables
2006 Prix Europa: My father the Turk
2006 Golden Gate Award: My father the Turk
2006   Best Documentary Film Festival Nuernberg: My father the Turk
2007 Vera Filmfestival Audience Award: My father the Turk
2008 Dubai IFF Peoples Choice Award: Heart of Jenin
2008 Cinema for Peace Award – Most valuable Documentary 2009: Heart of Jenin
2008 Movies that Matters Filmfestival – Peoples Choice Award: Heart of Jenin
2009 Valladolid International Film Festival – Best Documentary: Heart of Jenin
2009 Int. Filmfestival Leipzig DEFA Award – Best Documentary: Heart of Jenin
2010 German Film Award: Heart of Jenin
2011 Robert-Geisendoerfer-Award: Hunger – The various faces of hunger
2011 Grand Prix Camera Obscura – Ryszard Kapuscinski Award: After the Silence
2011 Fuenf Seen Festival – Horizonte Film Award: After the Silence
2012 Bernhard Wicki Film Award: Cinema Jenin
2012 German Camera Award – Editing: Cinema Jenin


“As a documentary filmmaker I go to a foreign land, and the people tell their stories and open their hearts.  In return, I give them back a film, but I don’t believe that a film alone has the power to change their circumstances in the long run. Rebuilding Cinema Jenin gives each of those who participate the possibility to write the next chapter in their lives." 
Marcus Vetter about the project Cinema Jenin


Always stay up to date with our newsletter - sign in now!

Copyright 2016 Filmperspektive GmbH  |  Sickstrasse 36  |  70190 Stuttgart  |  Germany  |  Email: Imprint, Terms of use and Privacy Policy